We were driving to IKEA the other day and out of nowhere, Ania asked: “What are those bumpy things on my fingers??”, before I was able to answer, her sister, Mila quickly told her that those bumpy things are scars from the surgery she had to separate her fingers, because she, Ania was born with her fingers stuck together. Ania just said “OK” and continued to examine her fingers closely.
I have to say, I almost swallowed my tongue when I heard Ania’s question, I know it’s not a huge deal but I was relieved Mila answered so quickly and eloquently! Yay Mila!!

Today, I brought Ania with me to pick up Mila from school (she’s about to graduate from senior kindergarten), her classmates love Ania, some of them play with my girls after school at the school playground, but today was the very first time everyone noticed how different Ania’s fingers looked! They all immediately surrounded her and started grabbing Ania’s fingers without asking, it was total mayhem for a minute, I literally had to physically move them away because no one was paying attention to Ania’s swipes at their heads in defence or my pleas for space.
I know, curious 5 year-olds, Ania was fine a minute later and resumed the mad race with her older friends and big sister around the playground as if nothing had happened. I’m very glad she’s such a tough little gal, she always reminds me of my mother’s words: “In life, you are never given more than you can handle”, I believe this now more than ever.

20110620-084834.jpg